2020 Fall Convocation

Congratulations, class of 2020! 

Your dedication, commitment and hard work have paid off. You have the brightest future ahead as leaders, researchers, and healthcare professionals, and we are honoured to celebrate your success. We wish you the best in the next phase of your careers.

View the 2020 Fall Convocation page for special messages from Dean Preston Smith and Associate Dean, School of Rehabilitation Science Dr. Teresa Paslawski.

  • Lindsay Gold Medal – Astrid Lang
  • Senior Stick – Jeff Elder
  • Spirit of the Class – Odell Tan
  • Hilliard Medal in Medicine – Samantha Bird
  • Dr. Hugh MacLean Memorial Bursary (Surgery) – Nicole Pendleton
  • Dr. J.W. Gerrard Prize in Clinical Pediatrics – Astrid Lang
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology Medal and Prize – Astrid Lang
  • Dr. G. Ernest McBrien Award – Olivia Robertson
  • MacLeod Silver Medal – Lindsay Richels
  • The Professor's Prize in Surgery – Samantha Bird
  • Dr. Eric Lepp Award in Medicine – Kyle Anderson
  • Department of Pediatrics Graduation Award – Hisham Elshoni
  • The Reuben Brant Scholarship in Medicine Overall Academic Achievement – Astrid Lang
  • The Reuben Brant Scholarship in Medicine – Academic Achievement in Year 4 – Brooke Hoffman
  • Dr. Beattie Award in Psychiatry – Alixe Dick
  • Dr. Vince Matthews Prize in Community Health and Epidemiology – Samantha Bird
  • Dr. Suzanne Yip and Dr. Ivan Jen Award in Medicine – Samantha Bird
  • Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Award – Matthew Pechey
  • Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Award – Shyane Wiegers
  • Professor Popkin Prize in Obstetrics and Gynecology – Tatiana Fras
  • Dr. Epstein and Dr. Schnurr Integrative Medicine – Jenelle Clark
  • Dr. Robert G. Murray Undergraduate Award in Medicine – Isabel Hedayat
  • Lawrence & Penny Clein Scholarship in Palliative Care – Lacey Jurke
  • The Internal Medicine Achievement Award (In-Province) – Jacob Towriss
  • The Internal Medicine Achievement Award out of Province – Adrianna Gunton
  • Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Psychiatry Award – Huyen Vu
  • Saskatchewan Psychiatric Association Outstanding Graduate Award – Huyen Vu
  • Dr. Karl E. Oberdieck Psychiatry Prize – Sarah Larmour
  • Saskatoon Plainsmen Club Award in Family Medicine – Averi Kurtenbach
  • Dr. Walter J. Hader Scholarship in Medicine – Madeleine Hucl
  • Emergency Medicine Book Prize – Megan Spafford
  • Emergency Medicine Book Prize – Mackenzie Russell

Teaching Awards

  • Clinical Teacher of the Year (Regina): Dr. Rashmi Bhargava
  • Clinical Teacher of the Year (Prince Albert): Dr. Colin Gallins
  • Clinical Teacher of The Year (Saskatoon): Dr. Schaana Van De Kamp
  • Clinical Teacher of The Year (LIC): Dr. Rebecca Epp
  • Clinical Resident of the Year (Regina): Dr. Erik Vantomme (Internal Medicine)
  • Clinical Resident of the Year (Prince Albert): Dr. Reed Gillanders (Family Medicine)
  • Clinical Resident of the Year (Saskatoon): Dr. Dan Huynh (Psychiatry)

Help us celebrate your success!

If you, or someone in your department has received an award, let us know!

Award Winners





  • Kathy Evans — Department head secretary, Department of Community Health and Epidemiology — 2019 Sydney Inskip Award recipient
  • Heidi Brown, Department of Family Medicine (Prince Albert) — Postgraduate Medical Education Program Administrative Assistant of the Year
  • Darlene Stadnyk, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology (Regina) — Postgraduate Medical Education Program Administrative Assistant of the Year


Apply for Awards

Awards are one way to support and promote your own work and the achievements of your colleagues and peers. Learn more about the opportunities that are available at the college, campus and national levels.

College of Medicine Awards

  • College of Medicine Excellence in Teaching — This award provides an opportunity to honour two peers for their significant contributions to the teaching mission of the College of Medicine. For more information, contact Linda Bowen.
  • Louis Horlick Spirit of the College Award — Established by the College of Medicine Alumni Association, this award is presented annually to an individual associated with the college who has gone over and above the call of duty and shows the spirit, dedication and enthusiasm that Dr. Louis Horlick exemplified during his career. The award will be presented at the Highlights in Medicine Alumni Reunion Conference banquet in June. Applications are due at the end of April. More information...
  • Sydney Inskip Service Award — This award recognizes non-academic support staff members who have enhanced the work environment in the College of Medicine. This award is made possible through the generosity of Drs. Ivan Jen and Suzanne Yip. Contact for more information.
The OVDR offers a number of funding opportunities to our faculty, undergraduate students, graduate students and postgraduates as a way to support and encourage trainees, faculty and staff of the College of Medicine in research activities.

The PGME office has several awards available for residents to apply for in a wide range of areas. Award recipients are recognized at the annual resident appreciation night. Deadlines are at the end of May, annually.

  • CanMEDS awards – to recognize medical residents who have excelled in the CanMEDS roles while at the College of Medicine
  • CSCI-CIHR Resident Research award – co-sponsored by the Canadian Society for Clinical Investigation (CSCI) and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), this award is for the best resident research project conducted during a RCPSC/CFPC training program at each Canadian medical school.
  • Medical Class of 1939 Resident Teacher award in Medicine – recognizes medical residents who have excelled in teaching while at the College of Medicine.

The PGME office also recognizes program directors and program administrative assistants. For more information, contact Della Toews.

Departments award faculty, residents, and students for quality research, teaching, academic achievement, leadership and professionalism. Many of the departments celebrate award winners at annual celebrations, or during a research presentation day. Some departments have travel award funding, or funding for research studies.

Contact your department to learn more about department undergraduate, resident and faculty awards.

USask Awards

  • Undergraduate
  • Graduate
  • Faculty
    • The University of Saskatchewan has a number of faculty teaching awards, as well as funding for projects related to curriculum innovation, experiential learning, scholarship of teaching and learning, open educational resources, and course innovation communities. This website also contains information on how to apply for national and international teaching awards.
  • Staff
    • The University Staff Excellence Award honours individuals who have enhanced the work environment by providing an extraordinary service to the university community, who have inspired, supported and respected the endeavours of others and who have achieved this distinction through dedication and commitment, and who have clearly demonstrated at least one of the principles or values as included in the mission, vision and values of the University of Saskatchewan.

External Awards