Dean Preston Smith and RQHR CEO Keith Dewar shake on new agreement supporting the CoM's Regina campus

CoM, RQHR sign agreement of support

10-year agreement formalizes commitment between the college and health region

The College of Medicine and the Regina Qu’Appelle Regional Health Authority (RQRHA) recently committed to continuing to grow development of the Regina campus, and to support access and quality of care in the area.

The commitment is a formal 10-year agreement acknowledging the contribution the Regina campus and RQRHA make in helping to teach the CoM’s MD students – a contribution often overlooked simply because of its distance to the main campus.

“Our Regina campus is a significant and successful part of our college,” said Dr. Preston Smith, dean of medicine. “Today, we are agreeing to guiding principles and shared expectations so that, together, we can better support and further enhance our Regina campus.”

The agreement, which directly affect about 40 per cent of all second, third and fourth-year undergraduate medical students, ensures clinical access for health science students, and further supports the training of MDs and residents in the city. The agreement also helps to align the CoM with the new Provincial Health Authority.

“The Regina Qu’Appelle Health Region values the opportunity to be a host campus to medical students in both their undergraduate and postgraduate training, as indicated by our investments to support learning with library, research, and simulation supports to name just a few,” said RQHR President and CEO Keith Dewar. “We believe the learners bring an element of inquiry to patient care that challenges us to do our best for our patients. RQHR is proud of the work done by physicians and staff in Regina, and southern Saskatchewan, to contribute to this teaching.”