Welcome to the Department of Medicine.

The Department of Medicine is an academic and clinical department within the College of Medicine (CoM) and the Saskatchewan Health Authority (SHA). Our mission is to advance patient care, providing innovative education, research and quality clinical care.

As a provincial department with more than 240 faculty members, teaching and learning is concentrated in Regina and Saskatoon, with additional opportunities in Moose Jaw, Prince Albert, Swift Current, and Yorkton.

The Department currently supports just over 100 Residents. Our residency programs include: Core Internal Medicine, General Internal Medicine, Cardiology, Neurology, Nephrology, Respirology and Rheumatology.

Faculty members include both MDs and PhDs who carry out cutting-edge research. Areas of particular research strengths include COPD, Asthma, HIV, Multiple Sclerosis, Movement Disorders, Indigenous Health, and Rural Health. 

The Department of Medicine is committed to ensuring the success of our learners and faculty and advancing medical care in the province of Saskatchewan and beyond.

Dr. Haissam Haddad
Provincial Head