NOTICE: Due to rising rates of community transmitted COVID-19, the MD program has made the difficult decision to pause all shadowing for Year 1 and 2 students starting Wednesday, November 18 2020.  We are hoping this will be temporary and will consider resuming shadowing in 2021, depending on COVID transmission rates. 

Shadowing Overview
Every medical student is required to complete 10 hours (5 hours/term) per year of medical practitioner shadowing for MEDC 111 and MEDC 211 Success in Medical School courses in Year 1 and Year 2.  You may shadow physicians or nearly any professional discipline in the health care field. If you are unsure if a particular discipline should qualify as a medical shadowing experience, please check with your Year Coordinator in the UGME office.

Policy for practitioners being shadowed/observed:
Thank you for facilitating this opportunity for a first or second year student to observe you and your team to help learn about the health care system and his/her future role in it.

Curricular and extra-curricular pre-clerkship medical experiences are arranged by agreement between medical students and volunteer supervisors of the student’s choosing to help students integrate their learning to date and assist them in career decision-making.

Any involvement of students in clinical situations must take into account their current level of training.  First year medical students will have certification in Basic First Aid and CPR for (HCP) Health Care Providers.  They are learning clinical and pre-clinical sciences, patient interviewing, and basic physical examination skills.  They MAY have had exposure to pathology, pharmacology or some systemic study of disease.  They MAY have learned discipline-specific clinical sciences or technical skills. If necessary, ASK the student about their level of training.  

Pre-clerkship students should NOT be recording histories or physical findings for official medical records.

It is required that any patient-related activity by these students be supervised DIRECTLY AND IN PERSON by a supervisor who has signed the Medical Shadowing Activity Log

It is expected that the patient(s) be asked for permission to involve the students in their care, and will be free to decline.

Shadowing Contacts

Name: Erin Cook
Title: Program Administrative Assistant
Email: erin.cook@saskhealthauthority.ca
Phone Number: (306) 655-1187

Name: Lori Huber
Title: Program Administrative Assistant
Email: lori.huber@saskhealthauthority.ca
Phone Number: (306) 844-1094

Name: Tamara Hinz
Title: Child Psychiatrist
Email: tamara.hinz@usask.ca
Additional Details:
Available Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Fridays

Name: Natalie Garrett
Title: Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
Email: njs424@mail.usask.ca
Phone Number: (306) 844-1004
Additional Details: Available for shadowing until November 30, 2020, then on maternity leave.

Name: Madhav Sarda
Title: Child Psychiatrist
Email: mps355@mail.usask.ca
Additional Details: Available Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays

Name: TBD
Title:
Email:
Phone Number:
Additional Details:

Name: Leah Chomyshen
Title: Program Administrator
Email: leah.chomyshen@usask.ca
Phone Number: (306) 655-1446
Additional Details: Available Tuesday to Friday 8:00 am – 4:00 pm. Shadowing will be 4 hours in the middle of the ER shift, starting two hours into the scheduled shift for 4 hours.

Name: Nico Moolman
Title: Specialist
Email: Drnicomoolman@gmail.com
Phone Number: (306) 244-7865

Name: Rick Jaggi
Title: Surgeon
Email: rickjaggi@gmail.com
Phone Number: (306) 850-3181

Name: Colleen Brockbank
Title: Westwinds Primary Health Centre
Email: cmb109@mail.usask.ca
Phone Number: (306) 655-4202
Additional Details: Available Monday and Tuesday – all day Wednesday, and Friday morning only

Name: Karen Bader
Title: Senior Program Administrative Assistant
Email: karen.bader@usask.ca
Phone Number:
(306) 380-8002 (during COVID) / (306) 844-1091 Office

Name: Treena Stephen
Title: Administrative Assistant for Dr. John Shaw
Email: treena.stephen@saskhealthauthority.ca
Phone Number: (306) 844-1105
Additional Details: Department of Surgery, Division of General Surgery, Hepatobiliary and Pancreatic Surgery

Name: Tera Blight
Title: Administrative Assistant for Dr. S.C. Kanthan
Email: tera.blight@saskhealthauthority.ca
Additional Details: Colorectal Surgery

Name: Francis Christian
Title: Clinical Professor of Surgery
Email: mrm107@mail.usask.ca
Phone Number: (306) 844-1085

Name: Mike Moser
Title: Surgeon
Email: mike.moser@usask.ca
Phone Number: (306) 655-5319
Additional Details: Liver and Pancreas Surgery and Kidney Transplantation

Also consider signing up for our call-back list to see a transplant or an organ procurement surgery (unpredictable, hence the need for a call-back list).

Name: Angela Kuffner
Title: Administrative Assistant
Email: angela.kuffner@usask.ca
Additional Details: Cardio Endocrinology / Dermatology / Gastro / GIM / Geriatrics / Hematology / ICU Infectious Disease / Nephrology / Neurology / Respirology / Rheumatology / Transplant

Name: Kellie Davis
Title: Medical Geneticist
Email: kellie.davis@saskhealthauthority.ca
Phone Number: 306-655-1695
Additional Details:
Low volume clinics. Depending on the day/booking/no shows, students may only see 1 patient in a half day.

Name: Prachi Bandivadekar
Title: Administrative Assistant
Email: prachi.b@usask.ca
Additional Details: All Medical Imaging, General and specialty modalities in Radiology

Name: Kyle Moulton
Title: Neuroradiologist
Email: kyle.moulton@saskhealthauthority.ca

Name: Taralyn Landstad
Title: Clinical Administrative Assistant
Email: taralyn.landstad@saskcancer.ca
Phone Number: (306) 655-2710

Name: Mita Manna
Title: Medical Oncologist
Email: Mita.Manna@saskcancer.ca
Additional Details: Please contact my admin taralyn.landstad@saskcancer.ca to shadow.

Name: Adnan Zaidi
Title: Resident Rotation Supervisor & Medical Oncologist, Saskatoon Cancer Centre
Email: adnan.zaidi@saskcancer.ca
Phone Number: (306) 655-2710

Name: Nayyer Iqbal
Title: Clinical Associate Professor and Medical Oncologist
Email: nayyer.iqbal@saskcancer.ca
Phone Number: (306) 881-5611

Name: Osama Souied
Title: Medical Oncologist
Email: osama.souied@saskcancer.ca
Phone Number: (306) 581-4244

Name: Shahid Ahmed
Title: Medical Oncologist
Email: shahid.ahmed@saskcancer.ca
Phone Number: (306) 655-2710

Name: Chris Burke
Title: Administrative Assistant
Email: chris.burke@saskcancer.ca
Phone Number: (306) 766-2296

Name: Kathy Decker
Title: Clinical Administrative Assistant
Email: Kathy.decker@saskcancer.ca
Phone Number: (306) 655-2740

Name: Dilip Panjwani
Title: Radiation Oncologist
Email: dilip.panjwani@saskcancer.ca
Phone Number: (778) 344-7077

Name: Kate Johnson
Title: Radiation Oncologist
Email: kate.johnson@saskcancer.ca
Phone Number: (204) 396-3030

Name: Rahul Mainra
Title: Nephrologist
Email: Rahul.mainra@usask.ca
Phone Number: (306) 655-5934

Name: Gary Hunter
Title: Neurohospitalist
Email: angela.loehndorf@usask.ca
Phone Number: (306) 230-1779

Name: Michael Kelly
Title: Professor and Head of Neurosurgery
Email: m.kelly@usask.ca
Phone Number: (306) 844-1104
Additional Details: Contact becky.bokor@saskhealthauthority.ca to arrange shadowing.

Name: Kotoo Meguro
Title: Surgeon
Email: kotoo.meguro@usask.ca
Phone Number: (306) 844-1103

Name: Laura White
Title: Administrative Assistant
Email: laura.j.white@usask.ca
Additional Details: Contact the psychiatrist wished to shadow directly. Laura acts to advise students on who would be a good fit to shadow, if unsure. Only the psychiatrists are available to shadow.

Name: Stephen Adams
Title: Psychiatrist
Email: stephen.adams@usask.ca
Additional Details: Available Monday and Tuesday - Early Psychosis Intervention / Wednesday and Thursday (PM) - General Adult / Wednesday & Thursday (AM) – Forensic

Name: Olajide (Jide) Adelugba
Title: Psychiatrist
Email: adelugbaoo@csc-scc.gc.ca
Additional Details: Available Monday (PM) and Wednesday (PM) - General Adult Psychiatry and Forensic in a correctional setting

Name: Emmanuel Okoro
Title: Psychiatrist
Phone Number: (306) 954-3411
Additional Details: Available Thursday and Friday - General Adult Psychiatry

Name: Chidinma Ukandu-Ndubueze
Title: Psychiatrist
Phone Number: (306) 954-3411
Additional Details: Available Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday (AM) - General Adult Psychiatry

Name: Lilian Thorpe
Title: Geriatric Psychiatrist 
Email: lilian.thorpe@saskhealthauthority.ca
Additional Details: Geriatric with consult liaison and geriatric assessment program, and medical assisted dying assessments. Available - Monday, Tuesday, Thursday

Name: Jason Wagner
Title: Psychiatrist
Email: jason.wagner@usask.ca
Additional Details: Available Tuesday and Thursday (daytime) - Emergency Psychiatry

Name: Alanna Baillod
Title: Geriatric Psychiatrist
Email: alanna.baillod@usask.ca
Additional Details: Available Tuesday (PM)

Name: Rohit Lodhi
Title: Psychiatrist and Researcher
Email: rohit.lodhi@saskhealthauthority.ca
Additional Details: Available Tuesday and Thursday - Acute Care/Addictions

Name: TBD
Title:
Email:
Phone Number:
Additional Details:

Name: Lorrisa Budz
Title: Program Administrative Assistant
Email: lorrisa.budz@usask.ca
Additional Details: Typically shadowing is done only in the urgent care clinic, however if there is a specific sub-specialty of interest (i.e. pediatric ophthalmology, retinal, etc.) please indicate.

Email requests only.

Name: Judy Classen
Title: Program Administrative Assistant
Email: ortho.surgery@usask.ca
Phone Number: (306) 844-1114
Additional Details: Shadowing will take place during weekday daytime hours only. They will not be booked after hours, on stat days or on weekends. Do not book during class time.

Name: TBD
Title:
Email:
Phone Number:
Additional Details:

Name: Brendan Kushneriuk
Title: Physiatrist
Email: bck579@usask.ca
Phone Number: (306) 655-8736

Name: Tracy Rae
Title: Administrative Assistant
Email: tracy.rae@saskhealthauthority.ca
Phone Number: (306) 844-1090

Name: Tara Adams and Lindsay Beck
Title: Administrative Assistants to Dr. Richard Bigsby, Dr. Renee Kennedy, Dr. Steven Bharadwaj, and Dr. Stephen Gowing
Email: thoracic@sasktel.net
Additional Details: Please email

Name: Urology Associates
Title: Office
Email: d.letourneau@sasktel.net
Additional Details: Saskatoon Urology Associates offers numerous shadowing opportunities for students, including in office, cystoscopy, and operating room exposures.