Alumni Awards

Celebrate outstanding alumni.  

Spirit of the College Award

The Louis Horlick “Spirit of the College of Medicine Award” was established by the Alumni Association in honour of Dr. Louis Horlick, Professor Emeritus, Department of Medicine, for his contributions to the College of Medicine.

The annual award will be presented to an individual associated with the college who has contributed over and above the call of duty and shows the spirit, dedication and enthusiasm that Dr. Horlick has exemplified over his career. The first presentation of this award was made to Dr. H.J. Spooner at the College of Medicine 50th anniversary celebrations.

Nominations for the 2021 Louis Horlick Spirit of the College Award will close April 30, 2021.

2020:Dr. Kathy Lawrence
2019: Dr. Annette Epp
2018: Dr. Jose Francisco Lopez
2017: Dr. William (Bill) Albritton
2016: Dr. George Pylypchuk
2015: Dr. Garth Bruce
2014: Daphne Tkachuk
2013: Dr. Don Stefiuk
2012: Dr. Jack Haver
2011: Dr. David Keegan
2010: Dr. Ian Holmes
2009: Dr. Earl DeCoteau
2008: Dr. Robert Card
2007: Dr. Lorne Hansen
2006: Dr. George R. Armitage
2005: Robert A. Hickie
2003: Dr. H.J Spooner

After medical studies at McGill University, Dr. Horlick joined the faculty of the College of Medicine at the University of Saskatchewan in 1954. A cardiologist, Dr. Horlick pursued extensive teaching and research mainly in the area of hardening of the arteries. In 1962 he became Professor of Medicine, and from 1964 to 1971, he was head of the Department of Medicine. After retirement in 1989, Dr. Horlick was appointed professor emeritus and continued an active program of research and publications. He was also involved in preventive medicine and lifestyles programs for seniors.

An internationally known authority on cardiology and cholesterol, Dr. Horlick made a significant contribution to the understanding and prevention of heart disease. In addition to his professional career, he volunteered extensively with the Saskatchewan Heart and Stroke Foundation, serving as a member of the board, on various committees and as president. Dr. Horlick was the leader in establishing a cardiac rehabilitation program for patients of all three Saskatoon hospitals. He is known in Saskatoon as the “father of 9-1-1” for his role in the introduction of the emergency telephone number.

In 1988 Dr. Horlick received a National Volunteer Award, and in 1991 was the recipient of the prestigious James Graham Award of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. Dr. Horlick was named an Officer of the Order of Canada in 1994.

  1. A selection committee comprised of the Dean of Medicine, President, Past-President and Vice-President of the College of Medicine Alumni Association will select a worthy recipient of the “Louis Horlick Spirit of the College of Medicine Award”.
  2. The award will be open to nominations from the all alumni, faculty, staff and students of the College of Medicine.
  3. All of the College of Medicine alumni, faculty, residents, students and staff are eligible for nomination.
  4. The individual must have exemplified service and dedication over and above the call of duty.
  5. The award will be made once a year at a time and place to be set by the College of Medicine Alumni Association.

USask Alumni Achievement Award

The Alumni Achievement Awards are presented annually to USask graduates who advance the reputation of the University of Saskatchewan and the Alumni Association. Award recipients are chosen for their outstanding achievements and innovation; commitment to excellence; community engagement and leadership; and contributions to the social, cultural and economic well-being of society.

Established in 1978, the University of Saskatchewan Alumni Association Awards honour the outstanding accomplishments of our alumni and attest to the excellence of the University of Saskatchewan educational experience.

Nominations are now closed.

Past Alumni Achievement Alumni Achievement award recipients from the College of Medicine:



Drs. Suzanne Yip and Ivan Jen are an exceptional couple who have made outstanding contributions to the medical profession, the artistic community and more broadly as generous philanthropists.

As newcomers to Canada from Hong Kong, Ivan and Suzanne overcame significant obstacles to attend the University of Saskatchewan. They met while attending medical school and were the first two Chinese-born immigrants to graduate from the College of Medicine in their respective specialties of dermatology and radiology.

Today, their philanthropic endeavors reach many supporters of the hospital foundations, University of Saskatchewan, Remai Modern, Saskatoon Community Foundation, Heart and Stroke Foundation of Saskatchewan, Meewasin Valley Authority, and others.

View the 2018 USask Alumni Achievement award video



Presented for his commitment to advancing the medical profession and his dedication to public service.

Dr. John Conly is internationally recognized as one of the world’s leading infectious diseases specialists and a pre-eminent expert on antimicrobial resistance, serving on advisory groups within the World Health Organization in this capacity. John was the recipient of the Distinguished Service Medal from the Alberta Medical Association, which is awarded for outstanding personal contributions to the medical profession.


Presented for her outstanding contributions to education and research.

Dr. Sherril Gelmon’s career has been devoted to developing management, policy and organizational research in health care. She received the 2017 Filerman Prize for Educational Leadership from the Association of University Programs in Health Administration for her contributions to health administration, education and leadership. She is currently a professor at the Oregon Health and Science University and Portland State University School of Public Health.


Presented for his commitment to athletics, sports, wellness, education and research.

Dr. David Mulder became surgeon-in-chief at the Montreal General Hospital in 1977. Among the positions he holds are medical director of the McGill Sports Medicine Centre and consulting staff for the Montreal Canadiens and Montreal Alouettes. David helped develop a trauma care system in Quebec based on regionalization of care. In 1997, he was recognized as a member of the Order of Canada.