Four research teams from the College of Medicine have received a 2018-19 Sprout Grant.

USask researchers receive more than $1.2 million to support patient-driven research

Research teams will be using funding to investigate health challenges such as improving lung cancer diagnosis with artificial intelligence and improving care for those living with inflammatory bowel disease.

Four researchers and their teams from the College of Medicine have received a Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation (SHRF) 2018-19 Sprout Grant to support their patient-oriented research.

The funding supports researchers working with patients, who guide the project with their research questions. The funding is provided in partnership with the Saskatchewan Centre for Patient-Oriented Research (SCPOR).

A total of nine teams from the University of Saskatchewan received more than $1.2 million in Sprout Grant funding.

“This funding further increases the amount of patient-oriented research happening in Saskatchewan,” said SCPOR Scientific Director Dr. Malcolm King. “With the involvement of patients and their families, as well as policy and decision makers, we believe this research will contribute to relevant and sustainable impacts for the health care system and for the health and wellness of Saskatchewan people.”

  • Paul Babyn, Department of Medical Imaging
    Improving lung cancer diasgnosis with novel artificial intelligence imaging analytics
  • Brenna Bath, School of Rehabilitation Science
    A Community-Informed Team and Technology Approach to Chronic Back Pain Management in Partnership with a Northern Saskatchewan Cree First Nation
  • Sarah Donkers, School of Rehabilitation Science
    Individualized Behaviour Change Strategies for Physical Activity in Multiple Sclerosis
  • Juan-Nicolás Peña-Sánchez, Department of Community Health and Epidemiology 
    Understanding and advocating for Miyo-Mācihowin (good health and well-being) among Indigenous Peoples living with Inflammatory Bowel Disease

See the full list of 2018-19 Sprout Grant Recipients on SHRF’s site.

Share this story