Dr. Paul Olszynski (MD'05) has been selected as CPoCUS Educator of the Year for his outstanding contributions to point of care ultrasound education.

CoM physician selected as ‘Educator of the Year’

Dr. Paul Olszynski (MD) has been recognized for his outstanding contributions to ultrasound education for residents in Saskatchewan and across the country.

The College of Medicine’s director of ED ultrasound is the recipient of the 2018 Canadian Point of Care Ultrasound Society (CPoCUS) Educator of the Year Award. CPoCUS recognizes individuals for their engagement and initiative in the field.

Olszynski was nominated by several colleagues in the Department of Emergency Medicine for his outstanding involvement in point of care ultrasound (PoCUS) education for undergraduates and postgraduates.

"This type of recognition from peers and colleagues means a great deal to me," Olszynski said.

He noted that his nomination for the award also highlights the amount of support received for the PoCUS program, SaskSonic. PoCUS training has been integrated throughout the College of Medicine's (CoM) medical education programs, including undergraduate, postgraduate and Continuing Medical Education.

"From ultrasound equipment, to standardized patients, to space in the curriculum and space to scan — this award could not be possible without the CoM's commitment to making USask a PoCUS leader," Olszynski added.

Olszynski is a U of S alumnus (MD’05) and has been passionate about PoCUS since his first ultrasound course in 2008. He currently oversees PoCUS education across the province and has trained many Saskatoon emergency physicians and residents in PoCUS.

Among his accomplishments, Olszynski founded and currently coordinates the department’s undergraduate PoCUS curriculum and electives, as well as the postgraduate interdisciplinary ultrasound program.

In his current role of chair for the CAEP Emergency Ultrasound Committee, Olszynski was a co-lead in publishing postgraduate ultrasound curriculum position statement. He is also a senior lead author on creating consensus guidelines for emergency medicine residency training.

For more on the CPoCUS awards, see their February newsletter.

Share this story