Dr. Juan Nicolás Peña-Sánchez (MD, PhD) and his research team were one of five SHRF Excellence Awards that were presented to College of Medicine researchers on Thursday.

College of Medicine researchers recognized for excellence in research

Five College of Medicine researchers and their teams have been recognized for their excellence in research by the Saskatchewan Health Research Foundation (SHRF).

The researchers and teams were presented with Excellence Awards during the 16th annual Santé Awards on Nov. 21 in Regina.

Excellence Awards recognize individuals and teams their top-ranked applications from researchers and teams during the past year’s research funding competitions.

  • Dr. Kerry Lavender (PhD); Dept. of Biochemistry, Microbiology & Immunology— Top Establishment Grant: Biomedical
  • Dr. Paul Mick (MD); Dept. of Surgery — Top Establishment Grant: Socio-Health
  • Dr. David Kingston (PhD); Canadian Centre for Health and Safety in Agriculture (CCHSA) — Top Research Fellowship: Socio-Health
  • Dr. Francisco Cayabyab (PhD); Dept. of Surgery — Top Collaborative Innovation Development Grant: Biomedical
  • Dr. Juan Nicolás Peña-Sánchez (MD, PhD); Dept. of Community Health and Epidemiology — Top Sprout Grant

Congratulations to our researchers on their outstanding successes. For the full list of award recipients, visit SHRF’s website.

Share this story