

Medical Class of 1939 Resident Teacher Award in Medicine

The Medical Class of 1939 Resident Teacher Award in Medicine has been established through a donation from Dr. Donald Wilson (class of 1939) to recognize medical residents who have excelled in teaching while at the College of Medicine, University of Saskatchewan. Dr. Wilson made this donation in recognition of the training received by him and his class during their time at the College of Medicine.

The Award

- Two awards of equal value, as determined by the Award Committee and based on financial resources available, are available on an annual basis.
- One award will be granted to a resident training in Family Medicine and the other award will be granted to a resident training in a Royal College specialty-training program.

Eligibility

Any resident currently enrolled in a College of Medicine (RCPSC or CFPC) postgraduate training program at the University of Saskatchewan.

Selection Criteria

- 1. Excellence in teaching in different settings. Examples include, but are not limited to, bedside teaching, informal teaching, morning report teaching.
- 2. Excellence in teaching in different CanMEDS roles.
- 3. Evidence of student satisfaction and student learning and impact on educational outcomes.
- 4. Demonstrated commitment to teaching.

Nomination Process

Each year the Postgraduate Medical Education Office issues a call for nominations. Undergraduate medical students, residents, faculty and staff of the College of Medicine are eligible to nominate a candidate. **Self-nominations are ineligible.**

Nominations are currently being accepted for the 2016-17 Resident Teacher Award.

Nominations MUST be submitted as a single PDF file with documents in the following order:

- 1. Nomination form
- 2. Nominator's letter of support
- 3. Minimum of two additional letters of support
- 4. Curriculum vitae of the nominee (abbreviated to two pages)
- 5. Additional supporting evidence

NOTE: Incomplete/improperly formatted submissions will not be accepted.

Nominations must be submitted electronically as single PDF file to Della Toews at della.toews@usask.ca.

The deadline for nominations is Monday, June 12, 2017. Late nominations will not be considered.

Selection Committee

Nominations are adjudicated by the Resident Teacher Award Committee. This committee is appointed by the Dean of the College of Medicine and includes the Postgraduate Medical Education Dean (or designate), Department Head, Academic Family Medicine (or designate), undergraduate student representative and resident representative. Other members may be added as designated by the Dean, College of Medicine.

NOMINATION FORM

Medical Class of 1939 Resident Teacher Award in Medicine

Nominee Information	
Name of Nominee:	
Department/Program:	
Phone Number:	E-mail:
Nominator Information	
Please summarize in a letter your reasons for nomination specifically addressing the award criteria. The letter must not exceed two pages.	
Name of Nominator:	
Department/Program:	
Phone Number:	E-mail:
Relationship to Nominee:	

Supporting Documentation

The following documents must be included in the submission:

- A **minimum of two additional letters of support** from undergraduate medical students, residents, faculty or staff of the College of Medicine. Letters must specifically address how the nominee meets the selection criteria. *Each letter of support must not exceed one page*.
- An abbreviated copy of the nominee's current CV focusing on the CanMEDS scholar role and highlighting teaching activities. CV is limited to a maximum of 2 pages.
- Additional supporting evidence (including evaluations, teaching awards etc.) should be attached. Supporting documentation must not exceed three pages.

Nomination Process & Deadline

Nominations MUST be submitted as a single PDF with documents in the following order:

- 1. Nomination form
- 2. Nominator's letter of support
- 3. Minimum of two additional letters of support
- 4. Curriculum vitae of the nominee (abbreviated to two pages)
- 5. Additional supporting evidence

NOTE: *Incomplete/improperly formatted submissions will not be accepted.*

Nominations must be submitted electronically as a single PDF file to Della Toews at <u>della.toews@usask.ca</u>.

The deadline for nominations is Monday, June 12, 2017.

Nominations received after the deadline will not be considered.

Questions? Phone: 306-966-1941 Email: <u>della.toews@usask.ca</u>